Username:   Password:   

-- All views and opinions expressed in this forum belong to individual UPA members and are not necessarily those of the UPA nor the Board of Directors.--
Index  FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Profile  Register
  Odd Hatch! Need help!
Jump to:    
  Post new topic   Reply to topic The United Peafowl Association - www.peafowl.org Forum Index » Breeding and Genetics     
jeremy

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:20 pm Reply with quote

Well I have been raising peacocks for about 5 years now and this is the first time I have had a problem telling what a chick was. About3-4 weeks ago I had an egg hatch and the chick looked like a blackshoulder/ white but I had marked the egg cameo. I came to the conclusion that i had jsut messed up. Well about 2 hours later I had another chick hatch and this one looked like a blackshoulder/white , but the egg was marked blackshoulder and it had the same date as the other egg so i figured the first egg that had hatched was a white. Well....... wouldnt you believe it that then i had a white hatch the same day andthe egg was marked white and dated the same as the other 2.

Now..... i became really confused becuase there wasnt anything else it could have been!

Now its been about 3-4 weeks and the chick has gotten a little light brown on its body (but no where close to a cameo) and it shows no colors of a black shoulder and its for sure not a white. However tis head and neck are still white and havent changed at all! What could be going on?

I can get pics if I need to!

Thanks!
JenniferB
UPA MEMBER
UPA MEMBER

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:00 pm Reply with quote

Ooh I love surprises! A picture really would help if you can post one.

DMFarms
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:25 pm Reply with quote

Jeremy sound like they are cameo blackshoulder. If the breeders are cameo they are split to blackshoulder.
Doug
jeremy

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:06 pm Reply with quote