Username:   Password:   

-- All views and opinions expressed in this forum belong to individual UPA members and are not necessarily those of the UPA nor the Board of Directors.--
Index  FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Profile  Register
  Peafowl Newbie[PICS ADDED- some may be considered graphic]
Jump to:    
  Post new topic   Reply to topic The United Peafowl Association - www.peafowl.org Forum Index » Health Goto page 1, 2  Next    
Wolf-Kim

PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2009 6:27 pm Reply with quote

Hello everyone, I am new to peafowl. I've always wanted some since the first time I met one in person. It was love at first sight.

I recently acquired a pair of Java green peafowl breeders. I was so excited and immediately brought them home and set them up to the best of my ability. Since then, I've noticed I may be off to a bad start. After I got them home and had a good look over them, I started realizing little things that make me believe I may have a "fixer-upper" pair that was less than thriving. I realize that peafowl are hardy critters, but let me describe some of my concerns.

Concern number 1: Both birds seem underweight. I don't know what the normal peafowl weighs or their plumbness, because these were the first I've ever handled personally. Their breast bone was protruding pretty fiercly and at first I shrugged it off thinking that it was normal for peafowl to be bony critters, but I've read a few topics and an experienced peafowl owner complaining about receiving birds with a protruding breast bone and called them emaciated.

To aid in concern number one, I've given them Ivomec in their water and have added a little bit of puppy chow to boost the protein.

Concern number 2: The peacock has what looks to be a bumble foot. On one foot where his toes meet, is swollen. It looks to be an old injury, when I brought him home, I searched for an open wound on his foot and couldn't find any.