Username:   Password:   

-- All views and opinions expressed in this forum belong to individual UPA members and are not necessarily those of the UPA nor the Board of Directors.--
Index  FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Profile  Register
  Is this a IB?
Jump to:    
  Post new topic   Reply to topic The United Peafowl Association - www.peafowl.org Forum Index » PHOTOS     
BigByrd24
UPA MEMBER
UPA MEMBER

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 1:52 pm Reply with quote

Hi everyone,
I am sorry to ask a stupid Question like this but I am new to this peafowl thing. Confused I was told that all of them are full IB. So I hope someone can help.

Since this pic his neck is more blue.
All of the hens look the same very hard to tell them apart

Last edited by BigByrd24 on Fri Dec 12, 2008 8:14 pm; edited 1 time in total
featherhead
UPA Forum Moderator
UPA Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 4:44 pm Reply with quote

Beautiful Blues you have there, BigByrd. And your IB hens are just like mine - it's very difficult to tell them apart. I've had to look for the tiniest detail to know who's who.

Also, I've learned that there are no "stupid" questions. Ask whatever is on your mind, as there are some incredibly knowledgeable breeders here and they are willing to share their experiences. When I have questions, this is where I ask.

UPA MEMBER
UPA MEMBER

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 4:47 pm Reply with quote

Thanks featherhead.
How can you tell how old they are?

Tim
featherhead
UPA Forum Moderator
UPA Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:14 pm Reply with quote

Did the seller tell you their age? Aging birds isn't very easy for me. How long was the male's tail this past summer? If it was rather short, say about a foot long, he's probably a 2-yr-old. At age 3 and above, his train will be 4-5 feet. My oldest male has several train feathers that are just short of 6 feet. He's around 15 years old. Does that help, or do we need to call in the "big guns"?

UPA MEMBER