Username:   Password:   

-- All views and opinions expressed in this forum belong to individual UPA members and are not necessarily those of the UPA nor the Board of Directors.--
Index  FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Profile  Register
  New to peafowl
Jump to:    
  Post new topic   Reply to topic The United Peafowl Association - www.peafowl.org Forum Index » Housing     
dlhumphrey

PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 11:23 am Reply with quote

Hello,

My wife and I am new to pea fowl and have a few questions.

In the past, we have gleaned a lot of valuable information from different forums and have a few questions regarding pea fowl.

My wife and I are loking at getting three pea chicks around the first of October. We have other animals (dog, cat, chickens, fish, parrot, goats, donkeys) so are aware of the different needs.

We currently live on 2 acres with about 1/3 of it fenced with chain link.

Our intention is to keep them penned for awhile until they get used to their surroundings and then let them roam.

Is this realistic? Would they stay or would we need to keep their wings clipped?

Another question is the noise. I hear them in the park and don’t find it obnoxious but wonder about the neighbors.

Is it mostly during mating season? Is it constant or just certain times of the day?

I know there will be plenty more questions.

Thank you.
burdgurl
UPA MEMBER
UPA MEMBER

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 8:19 pm Reply with quote

I can attest to the fact that peacocks are known to roam for many many miles, no matter how long you keep them penned up first. Then again, some will stay put on your property after being penned up for a while. I've had it go both ways.
As far as clipping the wings, that would be detrimental to the birds in that they could not fly to get away from many types of predators. ( of course there are predators that will get them in trees also, coons and so forth. Also, it would not keep them from simply " walking off ". Wink