Username:   Password:   

-- All views and opinions expressed in this forum belong to individual UPA members and are not necessarily those of the UPA nor the Board of Directors.--
Index  FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Profile  Register
  Hey ya hi ya!
Jump to:    
  Post new topic   Reply to topic The United Peafowl Association - www.peafowl.org Forum Index » Introductions     
TriageRN_37

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 1:23 pm Reply with quote

Hello! Very happy to be a new member here!

I am a nurse from Oregon, and I have an acre that I have chosen to be about birds and gardens! I am very fortunate to have many gorgeous wild birds visiting my home feeders, and have started raising Pheasants (Ring Necked).

Being the local bird freak in this rural area, I tend to get people asking me lots of questions and giving me their birds (or rehab some wild ones). But, not having formal training on avaians (just learning as I go) does put me in a bind at times...and it is thanks to sites like these that I can really help our avian friends! So thank you in advance!

I got a Blue Peacock about a week ago. A farmer in a few cities away was re-zoned in their area (progress put a track housing unit on the adjacent few acres next to them), and they owned several range peacocks/peahens. Well...for people that can not understand that animals do have their delights and not so delightful features (like us humans...LOL!) they asked them (before making them) to loose these peacocks. I got one, and he is just a doll! This offer came on suddenly, but thank Goodness I was in a position to have the supplies needed to start work on his new pen right away...whew!