Username:   Password:   

-- All views and opinions expressed in this forum belong to individual UPA members and are not necessarily those of the UPA nor the Board of Directors.--
Index  FAQ  Search  Memberlist  Usergroups  Profile  Register
  They're heeeerrrrreeeee :) peachicks 2012
Jump to:    
  Post new topic   Reply to topic The United Peafowl Association - www.peafowl.org Forum Index » Incubation, Hatching, and Peachick care Goto page 1, 2  Next    
Cory

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2012 4:37 pm Reply with quote

Yippieeeee !!!! My first clutch of peafowl eggs have hatched under a game hen - mum disappeared one week b4 hatch - but Thank GOD I had this mean ol' game hen who set them Smile

I'm definitely new to peafowl and will welcome any suggestions regarding:
- feeding
- brooding (w/,w/out game hen)
- medicated feed / gamebird crumble
- water supplements : vit/elct, wormer

Thank you on advance! These peas are sooooo cute!

Cory

Hello kidz !!! I am new to raising peafowl, I have been around agriculture all my life and always desired to raise Peafowl. I am just moving back from the Upper East Side of NYC and am ready to get back to what I love! AGRICULTURE!
Zenith49

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 2:48 pm Reply with quote

I also have new chicks - 4 now and another egg has pipped. I am also brand new at this. We live in the burbs and have had peas for the last few years, but never any chicks.

All my eggs have been in an incubator as my two hens were not inclined to sit at the beginning and were laying the eggs all over the place. I collected the first 5 and tried to incubate them with a heating pad. Bad idea as the eggs got overheated. I borrowed an incubator and put the rest of the eggs in it as they were laid. The hens started laying on 3/22/12, but didn't decide to sit until 4/12. They laid two more eggs after they started sitting (in the same nest).